Book Tour

Year 11 & 12

Years 11 and 12 are the culmination of a student’s secondary education. During these final two years, students consolidate the knowledge, skills and values they have developed since Year 7.


In preparation for life beyond secondary school, Year 11 and 12 students choose the learning pathway that best suits their individual interests and capabilities. Students have the choice of completing the Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) or the Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL).

VCE (Victorian Certificate of Education)

VCE is offered to students who are seeking tertiary level qualifications after completing their Year 12 studies. Students choose from a comprehensive range of VCE units of study across the academic disciplines of: Commerce, English, Visual Art, Mathematics, Science, Technology, Health, Sport, Languages, Humanities and Performing Arts. The College also offers a range of VET (Vocational Education and Training) Certificate courses, which contribute to the completion requirements of the VCE.

To achieve their VCE, a student must complete a minimum of fourteen units of study. These must include:

VCE subjects
  • Three units of English or Literature
  • Three sequences of Units 3 and 4 studies, other than English. This may include Unit 3 & 4 VET subjects.
  • VCE Studies Units 1 – 4
  • Accounting
  • Applied Fashion and Design Technology Certificate II VCE/VET
  • Studio Art
  • Australian and Global Politics
  • Biology
  • Business Certificate II VCE VET
  • Business Management
  • Chemistry
  • Drama
  • Food Studies
  • German
  • Geography (Units 1 & 2)
  • Italian
  • Health and Human Development
  • History
  • Indonesian
  • Legal Studies
  • General Mathematics (Units 1 & 2)
  • Further Mathematics (Units 3 & 4)
  • Mathematical Methods
  • Specialist Mathematics
  • Media
  • Music Industry VCE VET Certificate III
  • Music Performance
  • Physical Education
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Religion & Society (Units 3 & 4)
  • Religious Education, school based study
  • Visual Communication & Design

VCAL (Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning)

VCAL is offered to those students who prefer a more applied way of learning, and may lead to employment or further training.

There are three levels of the VCAL – Foundation, Intermediate and Senior. A student must satisfactorily complete ten accredited units in order to achieve the VCAL, which can be made up of a mixture of VCE, VET, Further Education or specific VCAL units.

VCAL develops and extends pathways to employment, further study at TAFE, apprenticeships and  traineeships. It provides young people with skills that are important for life, work and further study.

VCAL subjects
  • VCAL Literacy
  • VCAL Numeracy
  • VCAL Personal Development Skills
  • VCAL Work Related Skills


Year 12 students are encouraged to experience independence in our modern senior learning centre, Currajeen. Our students enjoy a well-resourced common room, modern and technology rich classrooms, seminar and lecture spaces and tranquil landscaped outdoor courtyards. Currajeen provides an ideal environment for personal study supporting students in their transition from secondary to tertiary education.